Updates on cases, laws, and other topics of interest to local governments

Subscribe by Email

Enter your Email:
Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

Subscribe in a Reader

Follow Municipal Minute on Twitter


Blog comments do not reflect the views or opinions of the Author or Ancel Glink. Some of the content may be considered attorney advertising material under the applicable rules of certain states. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Please read our full disclaimer

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

State Imposes New Restrictions on Illinois Regions

Regions 7 and 8 (Will, Kankakee, Kane, and DuPage Counties)

This afternoon, the Governor announced new mitigation efforts for Regions 7 and 8, which take effect on Friday, October 23, 2020. Region 7 includes Will and Kankakee Counties and Region 8 includes Kane and DuPage Counties. According to the Governor's press release, both regions have shown a positivity rate higher than 8%. 

The mitigation measures are the same for both Regions, and include the following:

Bars:  No indoor service at bars, and outside service must end at 11:00 p.m. Restrictions also include social distancing, table distancing, no dancing or standing indoors, and no seating of multiple parties at one table.

Restaurants:  No indoor dining at restaurants, and outdoor dining must end at 11:00 p.m. Other restrictions include table distancing, no standing or congregating indoors while waiting for a table, reservations required, and no seating of multiple parties at one table.

Meetings, Social Events, and Gatherings: Limited to lesser of 25 guests or 25% of the room capacity, no party buses, and casinos and gaming must end at 11:00 p.m. and limited to 25% capacity. 

Region 5 (Southern Illinois)

Earlier this week, new mitigation measures were announced for Region 5 (Southern Illinois) that place the same restrictions discussed above for Regions 7 and 8, and take effect on Thursday, October 22, 2020. 

Region 1 (Northwestern Illinois, including Rockford area)

At the beginning of October, similar mitigation measures were imposed on Region 1, which remain in effect. 

Regions 4 and 7 (Metro East and South Suburban)

In August, we reported on mitigation measures imposed on Regions 4 and 7. Those mitigation measures were lifted in September but yesterday's announcement means that this is the second time Region 7 is being restricted. 


Post a Comment